Archive for March, 2010

KUETians at World’s top ranked universities (according to “Times Higher Education”)

Monday, March 1st, 2010

Abdur Rahman

ME – 2k2, KUET

————————————————–

Dear all KUETians, here is the partial list of the KUETians who attended in Top ranked universities. I have used “Times Higher Education” to evaluate the university’s ranking. A lot of my foreigner friends use it to evaluate the universities. I know there is no exact procedure/methodology or any particular organisations to rank universities. But, if any university is in top 500 within last 4/5 years then nobody can put a question mark about the quality of that university. Thats my personal opinion. Hopefully, it willn’t make any controversary. I prepared it for the juniors who are looking for higher education now. They can communicate with their seniors who already attended in those universities. When i was in Bangladesh, i didn’t know myself that each year atleast 10% of the BUETians try hard & soul to get admission in World’s toppest universities. A good university/good environment/laboratory is always a vital factor for the higher education. Because, it is more than enough to change the novice student’s mentality & makes him/her humble as well as ambitious. Good luck to KUETians & long live our beloved KUET.

No Name Batch Name of the university Varsity’s ranking position in 2009 2008 2007 2006 Email address
1. Tofazzal Hossain CSE-2k Australian National University 17 16 16 16 tofazzal743@yahoo.com
2. Dr Mir Hayder ME-93 McGill University 18 20 12 21 mmahayder@hotmail.com
3. Shishutosh Barua CE-95 University of Melbourne 36 38 27 22 shishutosh@hotmail.com
4. Sayeedul Haque CE-2k1 University of Melbourne 36 38 27 22 sayeed84@yahoo.com
5. Mesbauddin Chowdhury (Rakan) ME-95 Monash University 45 47 43 38 rokan2210@yahoo.com
6. Dr Mohammad Mashud ME-92 Nagoya University 92 120 112 128 mdmashud@yahoo.com
7. Faruque Hossain EEE-97 City University of Hong Kong 124 147 149 154 fhossain97@yahoo.com
8. Nawaz Ali CSE-2k1 City University of Hong Kong 124 147 149 154 taposh_kuet20@yahoo.com
9. Dr Sumi Siddiqua* CE-94 Cardiff University 135 133 99 141 sumisiddiqua@yahoo.ca
10. Abdur Razzak - Kyushu University 136 128 arazzakbitk@yahoo.com
11. Golam Kibria EEE-2k1 McMaster University** 143 117 108 155 kibria076@yahoo.com
12. Sobhan Chowdhury EEE-85 University of western Ontario (UWO) 151 159 126 215 chowdhurysobhan@yahoo.ca
13. Zahir Uddin Ahmed ME-97 University of western Ontario (UWO) 151 159 126 215 sohel_02me@yahoo.com
14. Foizul Islam Chowdhury (Umel) CSE-99 University of western Ontario (UWO) 151 159 126 215 umel80@yahoo.com
15. Rahima Afrose (Rony) ME-2k University of western Ontario (UWO) 151 159 126 215 kuet_afrose2k@yahoo.com
16. Nazrul Islam (Rajib) CSE-2k University of western Ontario (UWO) 151 159 126 215 nazrul_research@yahoo.com
17. Jahidur Jahman (Sumon) EEE-2k1 University of western Ontario (UWO) 151 159 126 215 sumon308@yahoo.com
18. Mohammad Sadnan Al-Manir - Vienna University of Technology - - 166 138 sadnanalmanir@yahoo.com
19. Mohammad Badiul Islam - KTH, Royal Institute of Technology 174 173 192 172 badiul98@yahoo.co.uk
20. Abdullah al Mamum (Tauhid) ME-2k2 KTH, Royal Institute of Technology 174 173 192 172 tauhid82@yahoo.com
21. Abdur Rahman*** ME-2k2 Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB) 191 183 154 165 rahman_kuet@yahoo.com
22. Sheikh Mahbub Habib CSE-98 Chalmers University of Technology 198 162 197 147 rony2k2001@yahoo.com

* She worked in UWO as a post doctorate researcher and currently she is working in “Simon Fraser University” (another top ranked university 196th position in 2009).

**One of the KUETians is now in a faculty position here. His name is Dr Matiur Rahman Howlader (EEE-83), email: mrhowlader@ece.mcmaster.ca.

***He is doing collaborating PhD in ULB & Ryerson University.